In this article, you will learn:
- Important steps to take after being involved in a car accident
- What to avoid when seeking a settlement after an auto accident
- How and when to file a claim after a Louisiana car accident
If you are not at fault, a poor driving record wouldn’t even come into evidence. You may be the world’s worst driver, but if you get rear-ended at a red light, none of that history comes into play. However, it depends on the facts of the case. If there is a question as to who is at fault. The old driving record doesn’t affect what happened in the new case.
Why To Hire A Personal Injury Attorney Even If It Is Clear That The Other Party Was At Fault For The Car Accident?
You really should hire a personal injury attorney because there is so much that can go wrong. You must understand insurance coverages, and you must understand causation on your medical. An attorney almost always justifies his fee.
Defenses Tactics Insurance Companies Use To Deny Or Limit Compensation In An Injury Claim
Insurance companies will typically go back in the history of the client and try and find other accidents or other medical treatment also being claimed in the current case. They will certainly order former medical records and depose the client about the previous conditions.
How The No Pay No Play Law Could Impact The Chances Of A Recovery In An Accident Injury Claim?
Louisiana has a No Pay No Play provision wherein uninsured drivers forfeit the first $15,000.00 of injury and property damage coverage.
When It May Be Time To Settle A Louisiana Car Accident Injury Claim?
Generally, you should not settle your claim until after your medical treatment is complete. You should certainly have a complete workup, and if you are fine and through treating, then that’s a good time to settle it. But if you have lingering problems, a future surgery on the way, or any other issues, you should not settle your case until your medical picture is crystal clear.
Filing A Claim For An Accident With No Insurance At The Time
You can file a claim even if you did not have any insurance, but you are going to forfeit the first $15,000 of personal injury and $30,000 of property damage. That’s a significant hit.
Why Not To Provide Any Recorded Statements To The Other Side’s Insurance Company?
You do not have to and you should not provide any recorded statements since they will use it against you if possible. However, for your own UM insurance carrier, you do need to cooperate with them, and you probably would have to give a statement. However, you should give the statement in the presence of your attorney.
Paying Medical Bills While Awaiting A Settlement With No Medical Insurance
Most client’s attorneys will either loan that money to the client or the healthcare providers that they have a relationship with the attorney will hold the bill until such time as the case is resolved.
Louisiana’s Uninsured And Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Everyone should have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage because many people out there are uninsured, and a large portion of them are underinsured. $15,000 doesn’t go very far these days, and that’s the minimum coverage here in Louisiana.
Why To Seek Medical Assistance Even If You Do Not Believe Your Injuries Are Serious?
Even if your injuries do not appear to be serious, you should see a doctor under all circumstances to be evaluated after an accident.
For more information on Auto Accident Injury Claims In Louisiana, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (985) 200-8466 today.
Call For A Free Consultation